Scottish Archives for Schools online resources The Union of 1707

In the Cockpit

Transcript of the first page of the Journals of the Commissioners (NRS reference PA18/2 p.9)

Att the Council Chamber

in the Cockpit

Tuesday the 16th April 1706

In Pursuance of her Majestys Com-

missions, under her respective Great Seals of Scotland

and England, The Lords Commissioners of both Kingdoms

for the Treaty of Union met at the Council Chamber

in the Cockpit

Present

Scot[land]:

Earl of Seafield L[or]d Chancellor

Duke of Queensberry

Earl of Mar
Earl of Loudoun
Earl of Sutherland
Earl of Wemyss
Earl of Leven
Earl of Stair
Earl of Roseberry

L[or]d Archibald Campbel Lord Viscount Duplin

Lord Ross

Lord President of Session L[or]d Justice Clark Mr Francis Montgomery S[i]r Alex[ande]r Ogilvie S[i]r Patrick Johnston S[i]r James Smallet

George Lockhart of Carnwath W[illia]m Seton of Pitmedden

Engl[and]:

Lord Keeper

Lord high Treasurer Lord President Lord Privy Seal Duke of Somerset Duke of Bolton Earl of Sunderland Earl of Kingston Earl of Orford

L[or]d Viscount Townsend

L[or]d Wharton Lord Grey Lord Powlett Lord Sommers

Margues of Hartington

S[i]r Charles Hedges, Secretary of State

Mr Harley, Secretary of State

Mr Boyle

Lord Chief Justice Holt Lord Chief Justice Trevor

http://www.scottisharchivesforschools.org